Engine Demons

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

short story, The Devil, flash fiction, Sundays With Satan Short Story Series, buying a new car, humor, Modern PhilosopherEven though it was my home, The Devil led the way into the living room of The House on the Hill.

I was in too good of a mood, though, so I let my guest in the impeccably tailored suit act like he owned the place.

He made a beeline for the cooler in front of the couch, and pulled out two bottles of Snapple.  After he handed me one, he held up his in a toast.

“To many safe, non-stressful years behind the wheel of your beautiful new car!” Lucifer proposed.

I was totally down with that, so I tapped his bottle and then took a long sip of my iced tea.

“You never asked me to take you for a drive before,” I pointed out as we took our usual positions on either end of the couch.  “That was a nice change.”

“Well, you’ve never had a shiny…

View original post 859 more words

Leave a Reply

