Shame

notquiteold

I am ashamed of myself.

Oh, I was often ashamed of myself as a kid.

Mostly ashamed if I had been naughty. And when I was naughty, I would sometimes attempt (with no success) to lie my way out of it. And so then I would be doubly ashamed. Ashamed I had misbehaved and ashamed I had lied.

And as I grew older, I realized that the lie was worse. That was a good lesson to learn, and it served me well as an adult. I found it much better to confess to a mistake right away, both in my personal life and in business. To say, “I was wrong” and get on with my day. Better for all those around me, and much much better for my peace of mind.

I find now that I am not too much ashamed of anything I say or do. I try to…

View original post 456 more words

Leave a Reply

