2017 Arab American Book Awards Announced: 3 Big Names, 1 Debut Novel

Arabic Literature (in English)

The winners of the 2017 Arab American Book Awards have been announced, with well-known authors Rabih Alameddine (fiction), Hayan Charara (poetry), and Steven Salaita (nonfiction) taking three of the top awards:

The fourth award, for children’s and young adult literature, went to pediatric nurse and debut author Michelle Chalfoun for The Treasure of Maria Mamoun.

The awards  —  sponsored by the Arab American National Museum — will be presented at a celebration on Saturday, Oct. 7 at the museum, which is in Dearborn, Michigan.

A complete list of winners and honorable mentions:

WINNER: Fiction Award

The Angel of History
By Rabih Alameddine


13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl
By Mona Awad

WINNER: Evelyn Shakir Non-Fiction Award

Inter/Nationalism: Decolonizing Native America and Palestine

By Steven Salaita


Industrial Sexuality: Gender, Urbanization, and Social Transformation in Egypt

By Hanan Hammad

WINNER: George Ellenbogen Poetry Award


View original post 82 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s