Giving Your Whole Heart

notquiteold

Sometimes… for some of us… Mother’s Day is really hard.

Like when we go to a restaurant – just my husband and me – and we get a table right away, because all the other people in line are waiting for a table for four or for six or more. Because all the children grown and small are there to celebrate with Mom.

A table for two may be wonderful almost every day of the year. But on Mother’s Day, a table for two is so hard.

Sometimes the restaurant gives all the women a rose. “Happy Mother’s Day,” the waiter says.

I want to give the rose back. I want to throw it on the floor.

I say, “Thank you so much.”

But after the meal I leave the rose on the table.

I tell myself two things:

– That Mother’s Day is just a made-up holiday to sell…

View original post 434 more words

Leave a Reply

