Surviving Mother’s Day

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Mother's Day, coping with loss, family, life hacks, advice, philosophy, Modern PhilosopherI’ll start off this post on a positive note by wishing everyone a Happy Mother’s Day, Modern Philosophers.

The truth of the matter, however, is that not everyone celebrates this holiday.  For some of us, Mother’s Day is a very painful day to endure.

My Mom died when I was three, and I have absolutely no memory of her.  But every Mother’s Day, I am reminded of my loss.  I don’t want to ruin the holiday for anyone else, so I try to keep to myself and just survive the day.

I know I’m not the only only struggling to get through this day, so I thought I’d write about how I cope.

Today is one of the few days of the year when I don’t mind being alone.  Since I don’t have to worry about bringing down a significant other on what might be a joyous day for her…

View original post 645 more words

Leave a Reply

