One Hell Of A Future

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

short story, writing, flash fiction, The Devil, Sundays With Satan Short Story Series, making a deal with the Devil, humor, Modern Philosopher“I’m so sorry about the loss of your stepbrother,” The Devil said solemnly as he entered the living room.  “If it helps any, his name was not on my new arrivals list.”

His impeccably tailored suit was black this week, and I smiled at the gesture.

“I never doubted that Chip was destined for Heaven,” I replied with a half grin.  “He lived such a good life that I’m sure he had some sort of EZ Pass that allowed him to skip all the lines and go directly to the Pearly Gates.”

Lucifer smiled as he sat down on the other end of the couch.  “A little humor is always good at a time like this.  However, you’ve been through a Hell of a lot lately, and I wanted to give you the opportunity to change your fortune once and for all.”

I looked over at him curiously because he…

View original post 1,243 more words

Leave a Reply

