How Are You Doing? How Do You Know?”

Improving Police

Dr. Deming always asked this question when someone would report an  improvement — “How do you know?” Of course, that’s when survey methods and data come into play. That’s how you know!

I received an email this week that really got me excited. I don’t usually promote a product, but in this case I am making an exception. The product, is a brand new on-line system of client/customer feedback for police. It is exactly what I have said we need in policing.

I have been saying this for some time. In Arrested Development, I wrote about my experience with “customer surveys” when I led the Madison Police Department. I highlighted the pressing and vital need for chiefs to get direct citizen feedback from their community.

How many times have you heard “our city’s finest” in regard to a police department or your own police department? The proper reply is…

View original post 1,022 more words

Leave a Reply

