RICHMOND, Va. — #Police Department need help locating fugitive Ronald R. Broadnax who is ‘ Armed and Dangerous ‘ and is currently wanted on 10 active warrants – @AceNewsServices

Ace News Services

#AceNewsReport – Apr.08: Broadnax (also known as “Skee”), 35, has no known address, #police said. He has 10 warrants on file since Sept. 9, 2016. Six of those warrants were accrued in March, #police said.

WTKR report that a #police search for ‘armed and dangerous’ man with ‘Brenda’ tattooed on his neck he is wanted on four counts of assault and battery, breaking and entering with intent to commit a felony, felony assault, probation violation, failure to appear on a misdemeanor charge and possession and transport of a firearm by a convicted felon.

The Richmond Police Department is asking for the public’s help in locating fugitive, Ronald R. Broadnax, who currently wanted on 10 active warrants.

Police described Broadnax as a black male with a medium complexion, brown eyes, short black hair, and tattoos on both of his arms and the name “Brenda” tattooed on the left side of his…

View original post 201 more words

Fear Eats the Soul: Fassbinder’s film is still relevant after 40 years

That's How The Light Gets In

Rainer Werner Fassbinder’s Fear Eats the Soul has been re-released nationally as part of a retrospective at London’s BFI Southbank. Thanks to the MUBI streaming service I got a chance to watch again one of the great works of the New German Cinema that I last saw when first released in 1974. The film remains as extraordinary and – sadly – as urgent and relevant in 2017 as it was in 1974. Fear Eats the Soul is, without doubt, a masterpiece: a blistering  social and psychological examination of racism that has a tenderness rarely found in Fassbinder’s work. In addition, the idea of a film which treats the sexuality of a sixty year old woman in so matter of fact and sensitive a manner unfortunately remains as startling now as it was four decades ago.

View original post 1,864 more words

Support for poetry

ann e michael

It is April, and April is National Poetry Month, among many other things that April is.

2017npm-poster_0People have told me that poetry has helped them through times of fear and times of grief. That’s a familiar response when, on rare occasion, I happen to tell someone I am a poet. The thing is–I am not sure poems do that for me. Maybe writing poems helps, but reading them sometimes hurts even more.

Not that hurt is such a bad thing when one is grieving; there is the comforting recognition that sorrow is a shared experience, that others have been through and survived pain and sadness, that there is a community of Others who feel compassion and who can express it well and honestly. Too, there are poets I find myself reading when I just need to hear a familiar voice in my head. That familiarity in itself offers a…

View original post 152 more words

Palm Sunday, 2017 — Part II

Peace and Freedom

April 9, 2017, Palm Sunday of the Lord’s Passion

Reflection by The Most Rev William Goh, Roman Catholic Archbishop of Singapore

SCRIPTURE READINGS: [ MT 21:1-11IS 50:4-7PHIL 2:6-11; MT 26:14-27:66]

“And when he entered Jerusalem, the whole city was in turmoil. ‘Who is this?’ people asked.”  Today, as we celebrate the triumphal entry of Jesus into Jerusalem, the place where He His ministry wpuld culminate, we cannot but also ask this question, “Who is this?”  Undeniably, the entry of Jesus into Jerusalem was meant to be Jesus’ challenge to the people regarding His real identity.  He had been healing the sick, teaching them about the love and mercy of God, exorcising evil spirits, performing miracles, multiplying loaves and calming the storms.  In every miracle, the question needed to be asked of the bystander is, “Who is this?”  The clarity and understanding of…

View original post 2,575 more words

Great Love

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

love, relationships, the one who got away, running, fitness, humor, Modern PhilosopherI never know what’s going to pop into my head when I’m on a run, Modern Philosophers, and that’s part of what keeps the activity exciting for me.

It’s no secret that I hate running, but it is a necessary evil if I want to take care of myself, stay healthy, and improve my personal wellness.

One way I tolerate a run is by listening to music.  Lately, it’s been the Foo Fighters station on Pandora.  Great tunes to keep the legs pumping and if I play it loud enough, I can’t hear my muscles whining about how sore they are.

My other defense against the dark art of running is getting lost in my thoughts.  If I’m working on a new screenplay, I will mentally plot out the next scenes in my head while I run.  I like to test out potential dialogue for the new scenes by…

View original post 407 more words