Italians think twice before trying to use Parent Alienation Syndrome before a Judge

 italian GIF

Parental Alienation

Parental Alienation is not a clinically documentable illness.

View original post 1 more word

The Reverse Weekend Warrior

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

My exercise routine has been sporadic this past month. There were caregiving responsibilities, March break with my family, and a nasty cold.

I reviewed my activity data and was surprised to find my most active days for fitness were weekdays. What? In the warm weather I’m a Weekend Warrior, doing lots on weekends but little activity or exercise during the week.

This winter and early spring are the exact opposite, I’ve become The Reverse Weekend Warrior by walking my commute and scheduling four half-hour workouts during the week.

Natalie stares at the camera ruddy faced, her short mousy brown hair a mess in the background are brown lockers
It hasn’t been pretty but I do feel good in my body. I never got around to spinning on Thursdays and Saturdays. The previous winters I did spin for up to an hour on Saturdays and a few times during the week. Not this year.

Four bicycles lean against a brown bedroom wall under a window. The room has trainers, bicycle pumps and other sundry items strewn about.
Poor Ethel, my bicycle, has sat unloved.

I’m looking forward to the warmer weather so I can…

View original post 32 more words

[O’Dowd4] Kevin O’Dowd 12 May 2009 Supreme Court

cathy fox blog on child abuse

Verdicts were not safe and appeal allowed. This case is of interest due to the Ted Heath connection. 

Redaction

Some court reports have had victims names redacted and some assault details redacted.

This is a difficult balance –  normally I would think that  I should not “censor” details but on consultation with various people I have taken the decision to redact. This is mainly to protect victims, their friends and relatives from unnecessary detail and to stop the gratification of those who seek salacious details.

In addition to the obvious “victims redaction” to protect victims details, there may also be “assault redaction” across most of the spectrum of abuse. The assaults are left in the charges, but mainly redacted when repeated with reference to the individual. I have also redacted unnecessary detail of assaults.

Redaction may obscure sometimes the legal reason for the appeal, but should make no large difference…

View original post 13,554 more words

[O’Dowd5] Kevin O’Dowd 21 Sept 2010 EHCR

cathy fox blog on child abuse

Redaction

Some court reports have had victims names redacted and some assault details redacted.

This is a difficult balance –  normally I would think that  I should not “censor” details but on consultation with various people I have taken the decision to redact. This is mainly to protect victims, their friends and relatives from unnecessary detail and to stop the gratification of those who seek salacious details.

In addition to the obvious “victims redaction” to protect victims details, there may also be “assault redaction” across most of the spectrum of abuse. The assaults are left in the charges, but mainly redacted when repeated with reference to the individual. I have also redacted unnecessary detail of assaults.

Redaction may obscure sometimes the legal reason for the appeal, but should make no large difference to the vital information for researchers that these documents contain. That vital information is mainly names of the…

View original post 10,684 more words

Theme for the Week – Dorset Mills Part 5

The Dorset Rambler

– – – EXPLORING THE COUNTRYSIDE AND LANES OF DORSET – – –

So our final mill of the week…..is actually not a mill 🙂 ! But I wanted to include it because it does have a water wheel and to me, that makes it like a mill. This is in fact Blashenwell Farm.

Blashenwell Farm

Water Wheel

The old farm at Blashenwell sits between Corfe Castle and Kingston and is somewhat off the beaten track. The huge water wheel is attached to the side of an old barn and was once used to drive farm machinery. The barn itself bears the inscription ‘1760’ but the iron water wheel was put up some time later in the 19th century.

What I find interesting with this ‘mill’ is the way it worked. It is somewhat different from the norm in that the water leaves the mill pond and immediately drops down into underground pipes…

View original post 271 more words