My Trip to a Co-Parenting Workshop

Sean McSorley illustration cartoon car travel

Peace Not Pas

For those of you new to this blog, I am an alienated parent (a definition of parental alienation can be found here). With the exception of one hour with my youngest child at a Contact Centre, my ex-partner has successfully prevented me from having contact with my three children for just over7 and a half months. Between my ex-partner and I we have spent in excess of £9,000 over the last seven and a half months. I have also overcome unfounded safeguarding concerns against me. My ex-partner’s intention is to keep my children away from and my intention is to co-parent. As part of a Court Order (which she has already breached on numerous occasions) my ex-partner and Iwere ordered to separately attend a co-parenting workshop. The following is my account of my recent attendance at said course.

I entered the building, carried out the obligatory signing in…

View original post 871 more words

Restoring the Self in Bipolar Disorder

schizophrenia

Parental Alienation

In 2013 an article in the New York Times Magazine went viral. It was a personal story by Linda Logan, a talented woman whose life had been derailed by bipolar II disorder. Her concern was not the mania, depression, or psychosis she had lived through but something else: “the self.” She called on doctors to “ask about what parts of the self have vanished and . . . help figure out strategies to deal with that loss.”

Her words struck a nerve with many patients and left me a bit daunted. Thoughts of existential psychotherapy reflexively came to mind, until I looked closer at the parts of the self she found missing. “I lost my sense of competence . . . Word retrieval was difficult and slow . . . Clarity of thought, memory and concentration had all left me. I was slowly fading away.” These losses followed her even…

View original post 17 more words

7 Components of Depression Evaluation

happiness rip depression suicide robin

Parental Alienation

With or without cognitive impairment, the occurrence of depression in later life is a clinical concern. Obtain a family history of depression, other psychiatric illnesses, and dementia including age at onset, as well as current perceptions of family support. Given the possibility of impairments in reporting cognitive and functional behaviors, clinicians should try to obtain collateral information from family members, particularly with suspected dementia, where family is often the first to notice subtle cognitive changes.

http://www.psychiatrictimes.com/cognitive-disorders/7-components-depression-evaluation

View original post