A Proud Dad! (Blog 1600)

Broxbourne teenager who beat

talking disorder takes to the stage!

The Eddie Farmer Show can be seen in Hoddesdon
The Eddie Farmer Show can be seen in Hoddesdon

A teenager from Broxbourne who overcame selective mutism now hosts his own comedy and magic shows.

Eddie Farmer, 17, of High Road, struggled to talk when he was younger and received support from helpers at Wormley C of E Primary School.

However, it was only when he started The Broxbourne School that he began to speak properly.

He said: “It was a fresh start.                                       Find Eddie on

“Everyone was going through huge stress, moving schools.

“People were talking to each other and I thought, this is my chance to change.”

Eddie started performing when he was seven to just a few people at home, but has built up his audience over the years.

“I think most people who become entertainers were shy at school,” he said.

“Most magicians go into magic because they don’t feel they are impressive enough and they need something to make people impressed.”

The Eddie Farmer Show involves comedy, classic magic and mindreading.

It will be at Hoddesdon’s Young Life building, where Eddie attended youth club and improved his confidence, on Tuesday October 15 and Thursday October 31, which will be a Hallowe’en special.

The show is designed for people aged 12 or older and starts at 7.30pm.

Tickets cost £5 on the door.             Eddie on Facebook   Eddie on Twitter  

I was 37 when my son Eddie above was born and my Dad was 37 when I was born , I would give a limb to have my own Dad back for just a day, imagine what I would do for my sons! Davey

What would Dad have made of all this?

My late father would have been 92 on 26th of this month ! Having sat in the rear gunner turret of the Lancaster ‘Just Jane ‘ in a Lincolnshire farm yard,
looking out onto rainy open fields a few years ago, I wondered just just how he must have felt doing it for real almost 70 years earlier, already 200 miles from home and about to set off into the black skies over Germany and at the age of just 23 how could he contain such fear?            My Dad, Eddie (1921-1990)

I wish my younger son Matthew would play for Spurs and hopefully England, they need him‘Matt the Hammer!’

3 thoughts on “A Proud Dad! (Blog 1600)

  1. hey thhere and thwnk yoou for your infrormation –
    I’ve ccertainly picked upp anything new from right here.
    I did howeverr expertise a feww technical plints using this website, sonce I
    experienced too reload the website man times previojs to I
    could gett it tto load correctly. I hhad beesn wonderibg
    iif your hosting iis OK? Nott tuat I am complaining, butt slow loading instancees times wull vvery frequently affect ykur placemernt in google and could damage yopur quaoity schore iff advertising and
    marketing wigh Adwords. Anyeay I amm addong this RSS too my e-mail andd caan lolk oout for a lot more of your
    rspective exciting content. Makke sute you updatee this again soon.

    Like

  2. Howdy aare usiong WordPress forr your blog platform?
    I’m nnew to tthe blog world but I’m tryung
    tto get starrted and set upp myy own. Do yyou need any htjl coding knowledge to makke your own blog?

    Any help would be grealy appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

